The GEOINFO series (Brazilian Symposium on Geoinformatics) is an annual conference for exploring ongoing research, development and innovative applications on geographic information science and related areas.

Papers should describe original research. Ongoing or recently completed works are welcome. All the submissions will be reviewed by an international scientific committee.

The Geoinfo 2017 Demonstration session complements the overall program of the Symposium. It is designed to provide an exciting and highly interactive way to demonstrate tools for storing, processing, analyzing and visualizing spatial and spatio-temporal data. This is an excellent opportunity to advertise the applicability of the developed tool and to obtain feedback from the community in geoinformatics. Tool Demonstration papers should be related to the topics of interest of the main conference track. The session is focused on academic and research software, and it is not intended for the demonstration of commercial products.

The GEOINFO conferences also aim to bring to Brazil leading GIScience and spatial database researchers, to present to the local community a perspective of the state-of-the-art in the area. Past speakers have included Max Egenhofer, Gary Hunter, Andrew Frank, Roger Bivand, Mike Worboys, Werner Kuhn, Stefano Spaccapietra, Ralf Guting, Shashi Shekhar, Christopher Jones, Martin Kulldorff, Andrea Rodriguez, Max Craglia, Stephen Winter, Edzer Pebesma, Fosca Giannotti, Christian Freksa, Thomas Bittner, Markus Schneider, Helen Couclelis, Randolph W. Franklin, Paul Brown and Michael Batty.

Past Keynote Speakers

Daniel G. Brown
School of Natural Resources and Environment at the University of Michigan, USA.

From Spatial Modeling of Land-Change Patterns to Processes

Alexander Zipf
Department of Geography, Heidelberg University, Germany.

Analysing and Improving Volunteered Geographic Information for Humanitarian Activities


General Chair

Jorge Alberto Prado de Campos
Departamento de Engenharia e Arquitetura, UNIFACS, Brazil

Program Chairs

Clodoveu A. Davis Jr.
Departamento de Ciência da Computação, UFMG

Gilberto Ribeiro de Queiroz
Divisão de Processamento de Imagens, INPE

Poster and Demo Session Chair

Claudio Campelo
Systems and Computing Department, DSC
Federal University of Campina Grande, UFCG, Brazil

Challenge Chair

Karine Reis Ferreira
Divisão de Processamento de Imagens, INPE

Antonio Miguel Vieira Monteiro
Divisão de Processamento de Imagens, INPE